Author Topic: Steel torque tube  (Read 217 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline curryracer

  • COG Member
  • Advanced Forum User
  • ****
  • Posts: 211
Steel torque tube
« on: Oct 09, 2017, 19:53:13 »
I am considering trying to make a steel torque tube for my long term project, as I don't want to just buy one (even if I could find one for sale!)

The outside diameter I can work out from the rubber mounting thing, but does anyone know the correct ID / tube thickness?


Join the Chevette Owners Group. It's only 20 for twelve months. Benefit from discounts, parts, advice, shows, newsletters and much more!

Offline scotty

  • COG Member
  • Forum Superstar
  • ****
  • Posts: 1688
Re: Steel torque tube
« Reply #1 on: Oct 09, 2017, 20:09:22 »
What benefit do you expect from doing this?  I would have thought marginal at best. - Scotty

Offline curryracer

  • COG Member
  • Advanced Forum User
  • ****
  • Posts: 211
Re: Steel torque tube
« Reply #2 on: Oct 09, 2017, 21:05:46 »
Hoping to benefit from it staying in one piece!

One of the two axles I have already shows signs of wear inside the alloy tube from excessive movement in the donut / body mount. Want to future proof the drive line as best I can for reasonable cost.

From what I can see, the ID of the steel tube is bigger than the alloy one. I have sleeved the drive shaft and subsequently there is less clearance to the inside of the tube.

http://www.opelgt.com/forums/clutch-transmission-drive-train-upgrades/48090-reinforcing-propeller-shaft-2.html

Offline scotty

  • COG Member
  • Forum Superstar
  • ****
  • Posts: 1688
Re: Steel torque tube
« Reply #3 on: Oct 10, 2017, 20:37:56 »
Didn't realise you were going racing! Apologies for my comment - It is indeed important that the casing doesn't fracture as it is a rear axle torque and location link. - Scotty

Offline curryracer

  • COG Member
  • Advanced Forum User
  • ****
  • Posts: 211
Re: Steel torque tube
« Reply #4 on: Oct 12, 2017, 20:36:57 »
I don't actually have an engine yet, but the 120 bhp-ish Ford cross flow engine and some enthusiastic autocrossing over a few years did a fair bit of damage without actually breaking the alloy tube.

Hoping to get a tuned XE and do some track days, or tarmac stage rallies.

If anyone has one they could measure I would be grateful.

It may be that its not cost effective to make one when there are a few German companies that sell them for 100 or so.

Offline scotty

  • COG Member
  • Forum Superstar
  • ****
  • Posts: 1688
Re: Steel torque tube
« Reply #5 on: Oct 12, 2017, 22:33:19 »
I am running an X14xe through a Sierra type 9 box to the standard axle with no problem - its only about 85 bhp though. I did renew the bearing and rubbers just in case. If i was doing it again I would use a X18xe1 1.8 from a Vectra . Cheap engines - about 120 bhp which is probably the most you could expect a standard axle to take.

Offline curryracer

  • COG Member
  • Advanced Forum User
  • ****
  • Posts: 211
Re: Steel torque tube
« Reply #6 on: Oct 16, 2017, 22:27:21 »
Both my axles are from the Manta A, the one with the open diff has done well to take the abuse I was giving them. Not tried the one with the welded diff yet!

My options are:
Use a C20XE with an RX8 gearbox for which I will need the steel tube and the uprated shaft,  or

a tuned C16XE (making 120-130 bhp) with a tired type 9 for which I won't need the steel torque tube, but will use the uprated shaft (since I have one - actually I have 2 😉)

I was hoping to get some dims of the steel tube and cost out making one. It might help me make a decision which engine and box to use.

Join the Chevette Owners Group. It's only 20 for twelve months. Benefit from discounts, parts, advice, shows, newsletters and much more!
 

COG shoutbox

Refresh History
  • John PH: I'm not a member again. What's happened?
    Aug 21, 2017, 12:26:53
  • Mad Max A.K.A. Mal: @bill can you check johns membership status?
    Aug 21, 2017, 18:09:31
  • Bill: will check
    Aug 22, 2017, 18:36:25
  • Bill: IT says John PH member here
    Aug 22, 2017, 18:42:55
  • Bill: not sure what happened?
    Aug 22, 2017, 18:44:25
  • John PH: Yeah I paid for another membership again
    Aug 23, 2017, 12:26:54
  • Trudgechr: How do i add to the register
    Sep 02, 2017, 16:20:58
  • Bill: you can put it in here > [link]  , then a mod will move it to the right category eventually :)
    Sep 17, 2017, 10:34:41
  • Tomo195: Hi all.
    Oct 09, 2017, 20:31:33
  • Tomo195: does anybody know how I can post pics without using photobucket
    Oct 09, 2017, 20:39:11
  • Bill: just use the insert image button if the files are local to you
    Oct 12, 2017, 00:03:40
  • Bill: oops i meant the attachments and other options red bit at the bottom of a new post.
    Oct 12, 2017, 00:04:36
  • Barry Arthur: Needing help we v5 for my chevette
    Nov 14, 2017, 20:47:50
  • parko: what fo you need barry
    Nov 15, 2017, 21:38:28
  • parko: do
    Nov 15, 2017, 21:38:35
  • Barry Arthur: I don't have a up to date v5.according to DVLA I need a pic of vin plate and vin number stamped in to shell of vehicle.i can't find stamped on number.does anyone know where it is
    Nov 15, 2017, 22:26:54
  • parko: i cpuld be wrong but is it under the carpet between the drivers seat and sill
    Nov 16, 2017, 19:29:21
  • hsrwannabe: On the dashboard where the tax disc  used to go if its a pre 79 car
    Nov 17, 2017, 00:03:59
  • Barry Arthur: I've got the driver's seat out and carpet up but no sign.rather frustrating
    Nov 21, 2017, 20:00:46
  • Bill: it ids engraved into the floor near the seat , unless it isn't the original floor ?
    Nov 23, 2017, 09:27:53