Author Topic: Wiring loom  (Read 695 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Tommy Gun

  • Intermediate Forum User
  • Posts: 54
Wiring loom
« on: Jun 06, 2017, 18:46:41 »
I'm after someone or somewhere that does a wiring harness for a 2.6 v6 omega engine which I have just put in my chevette don't have original and was told that old ecu would go into limp mode

Join the Chevette Owners Group. It's only 20 for twelve months. Benefit from discounts, parts, advice, shows, newsletters and much more!

Offline scotty

  • COG Member
  • Forum Superstar
  • ****
  • Posts: 1733
Re: Wiring loom
« Reply #1 on: Jun 06, 2017, 20:36:59 »
I don't understand the problem. Presumably you have all the engine wiring in place together with its ECU so the only other wiring you should need is to the dash warning lights, fuel pump  and the ignition switch unless of course the ECU is a immoblliser one in which case you do need enough of the cars harness to use the key chip reader as well. You should be able to work out what's needed from an Omega wiring diagram . A Haynes manual should have one.  If its really a no go on Vauxhall kit you could go for a standalone ECU like DTA of MEGASquirt.  These aren't cheap however and do need some setting up.  Interesting project perhaps an item like this may help  http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Vauxhall-Omega-B-X30XE-Control-unit-Complete-Transponder-90492383-0261203589-/282441984477?hash=item41c2daa9dd:g:3D8AAOSw3ZRY-df8   - Scotty
« Last Edit: Jun 06, 2017, 20:52:14 by scotty »

Offline Tommy Gun

  • Intermediate Forum User
  • Posts: 54
Re: Wiring loom
« Reply #2 on: Jun 06, 2017, 22:47:20 »
Thanks for replying all I have is the injector rails that you plug into no ecu wanted a new harness cause of that many connectors that weren't being used it was like a minimum email field and car electrics baffle me sometimes I wanted to just have a simple neat set up

Offline scotty

  • COG Member
  • Forum Superstar
  • ****
  • Posts: 1733
Re: Wiring loom
« Reply #3 on: Jun 07, 2017, 09:19:53 »


If you get a early pre Ecotec Vauxhall or Opel ECU you will avoid the immobiliser problem but you will need to use the enginebay wiring loom for your engine. The alternative is to use a stand alone ECU which are programmable easily from your computer.

 I use a DTAS40  ecu  which is fairly simple to wire up. I use mine ignition only at the moment but did wire it up to run injection earlier this year. It didn't work for me as my ecu was not made to run Injection ( not enough memory I think). The wiring was simple to do and the ECU just uses default values for any sensor you don't connect.  Look on their website for more info. Other makes of ECUs are available too and will probably be just as simple. Emerald get good reviews. Look in the Kit car forums for info. - Scotty

 

Offline scotty

  • COG Member
  • Forum Superstar
  • ****
  • Posts: 1733
Re: Wiring loom
« Reply #4 on: Jun 07, 2017, 19:18:35 »
Further to my last - If I were doing it I would go the Megasquirt road as they can supply a complete kit ( ECU and Loom ) for your engine . Try http://trigger-wheels.com/store/contents/en-uk/p270.html for details - Scotty

Offline Tommy Gun

  • Intermediate Forum User
  • Posts: 54
Re: Wiring loom
« Reply #5 on: Jun 12, 2017, 12:49:34 »
Cheers for that info that's looks loads better and more inside my budget as well much appreciate the info was at a dead end with this problem

Join the Chevette Owners Group. It's only 20 for twelve months. Benefit from discounts, parts, advice, shows, newsletters and much more!
 

COG shoutbox

Refresh History
  • Tomo195: Hi all.
    Oct 09, 2017, 20:31:33
  • Tomo195: does anybody know how I can post pics without using photobucket
    Oct 09, 2017, 20:39:11
  • Bill: just use the insert image button if the files are local to you
    Oct 12, 2017, 00:03:40
  • Bill: oops i meant the attachments and other options red bit at the bottom of a new post.
    Oct 12, 2017, 00:04:36
  • Barry Arthur: Needing help we v5 for my chevette
    Nov 14, 2017, 20:47:50
  • parko: what fo you need barry
    Nov 15, 2017, 21:38:28
  • parko: do
    Nov 15, 2017, 21:38:35
  • Barry Arthur: I don't have a up to date v5.according to DVLA I need a pic of vin plate and vin number stamped in to shell of vehicle.i can't find stamped on number.does anyone know where it is
    Nov 15, 2017, 22:26:54
  • parko: i cpuld be wrong but is it under the carpet between the drivers seat and sill
    Nov 16, 2017, 19:29:21
  • hsrwannabe: On the dashboard where the tax disc  used to go if its a pre 79 car
    Nov 17, 2017, 00:03:59
  • Barry Arthur: I've got the driver's seat out and carpet up but no sign.rather frustrating
    Nov 21, 2017, 20:00:46
  • Bill: it ids engraved into the floor near the seat , unless it isn't the original floor ?
    Nov 23, 2017, 09:27:53
  • Barry Arthur: That's not so good.thanks for help
    Dec 22, 2017, 22:15:08
  • vauxhallkeith: Merry christmas everyone. All the best
    Dec 24, 2017, 23:31:36
  • Not sure: Hi I'm looking front seats for an HS chevette, any condation. Thanks
    Feb 16, 2018, 23:18:17
  • Odmark: Will i (5ft 1 tall) fit sort of comfortably in a 79 Chevette hatchback?
    Mar 15, 2018, 08:29:14
  • Odmark: correction, im 5 ft 17
    Mar 15, 2018, 13:59:49
  • Odmark: Correction again, apparently i am 6ft 5 haha
    Mar 16, 2018, 13:50:38
  • vauxhallkeith: Am 6ft 2 and fit fine in the front
    Mar 16, 2018, 19:34:47
  • John PH: 6ft 4 and no trouble
    Jul 05, 2018, 22:58:30