Author Topic: Fitting a tacho  (Read 407 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Jeff J

  • Advanced Forum User
  • Posts: 204
Fitting a tacho
« on: May 07, 2017, 18:59:19 »
Has anyone fitted one of these to their car http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/LED-Digital-Tachometer-Tacho-Gauge-Car-Motorcycle-Battery-Over-voltage-alarm-/172591594302?var=&hash=item282f42bb3e:m:myjqhV8yjMw_op78TSeQWsg I am not wanting to keep it in permanently nor am I bothered if it is particularly accurate, I just want something that will give me an idea of the revs. while I am running in the rebuilt engine. Also is it a simple matter of supplying 12V dc to it & connecting it across the coil? ( I think that is what the installation instructions are trying to say :D) Thanks

Join the Chevette Owners Group. It's only 20 for twelve months. Benefit from discounts, parts, advice, shows, newsletters and much more!

Offline Mad Max A.K.A. Mal

  • Committee Member
  • Just Call Me Blydenstein
  • ****
  • Posts: 11899
Re: Fitting a tacho
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2017, 20:44:57 »
Fitting seems pretty standard, but the parameters seem overly complicated,if it's a temporary thing you can buy an app for your smart phone (IOS or Android) that works on frequency of sound and apparently are pretty damned accurate for about 8
It's better to burn out than to fade away . . .

Offline Jeff J

  • Advanced Forum User
  • Posts: 204
Re: Fitting a tacho
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2017, 04:49:04 »
Thanks Mal,  I think having to buy a smart phone would tend to rule that out  :)) , but am I correct in thinking that is how they are installed?

Offline scotty

  • COG Member
  • Forum Superstar
  • ****
  • Posts: 1681
Re: Fitting a tacho
« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2017, 20:08:15 »
Any tacho requires 3 things +12v, earth and a pulse input.  The pulse input you get from the wire between the distributor and the coil.  - hope this helps - Scotty

Offline Jeff J

  • Advanced Forum User
  • Posts: 204
Re: Fitting a tacho
« Reply #4 on: May 09, 2017, 06:33:24 »
Yes thanks Scotty that is what I thought it was saying.

Offline Jeff J

  • Advanced Forum User
  • Posts: 204
Re: Fitting a tacho
« Reply #5 on: May 28, 2017, 13:14:19 »
Well I have got it fitted with no problems & it seems to be working ok, ticks over around the 900RPM  range, but I have just realised that I do not know what the rev range for this engine is & therefore I am unsure what limit to put on it while I am running the engine in. I can't find any info apart from tickover speed in the Haynes manual so does anyone know what would be the upper limit that the engine revs at once run in?

Offline scotty

  • COG Member
  • Forum Superstar
  • ****
  • Posts: 1681
Re: Fitting a tacho
« Reply #6 on: May 28, 2017, 14:25:04 »
1256 engines are ok upto 6000rpm  at least.  Max power is quoted at 5600 rpm by Haynes.  Tuned ones can exceed this easily. - Scotty

Offline Jeff J

  • Advanced Forum User
  • Posts: 204
Re: Fitting a tacho
« Reply #7 on: May 29, 2017, 07:42:58 »
Thanks for that Scotty, I could not find that in my Haynes manual, is it in the specs & I have missed it or buried away somewhere else?

Join the Chevette Owners Group. It's only 20 for twelve months. Benefit from discounts, parts, advice, shows, newsletters and much more!
 

COG shoutbox

Refresh History
  • Bill: fixed gopefully
    Aug 11, 2017, 11:09:37
  • John PH: What's happened to my menership
    Aug 21, 2017, 12:26:37
  • John PH: I'm not a member again. What's happened?
    Aug 21, 2017, 12:26:53
  • Mad Max A.K.A. Mal: @bill can you check johns membership status?
    Aug 21, 2017, 18:09:31
  • Bill: will check
    Aug 22, 2017, 18:36:25
  • Bill: IT says John PH member here
    Aug 22, 2017, 18:42:55
  • Bill: not sure what happened?
    Aug 22, 2017, 18:44:25
  • John PH: Yeah I paid for another membership again
    Aug 23, 2017, 12:26:54
  • Trudgechr: How do i add to the register
    Sep 02, 2017, 16:20:58
  • Bill: you can put it in here > [link]  , then a mod will move it to the right category eventually :)
    Sep 17, 2017, 10:34:41
  • Tomo195: Hi all.
    Oct 09, 2017, 20:31:33
  • Tomo195: does anybody know how I can post pics without using photobucket
    Oct 09, 2017, 20:39:11
  • Bill: just use the insert image button if the files are local to you
    Oct 12, 2017, 00:03:40
  • Bill: oops i meant the attachments and other options red bit at the bottom of a new post.
    Oct 12, 2017, 00:04:36
  • Barry Arthur: Needing help we v5 for my chevette
    Nov 14, 2017, 20:47:50
  • parko: what fo you need barry
    Nov 15, 2017, 21:38:28
  • parko: do
    Nov 15, 2017, 21:38:35
  • Barry Arthur: I don't have a up to date v5.according to DVLA I need a pic of vin plate and vin number stamped in to shell of vehicle.i can't find stamped on number.does anyone know where it is
    Nov 15, 2017, 22:26:54
  • parko: i cpuld be wrong but is it under the carpet between the drivers seat and sill
    Nov 16, 2017, 19:29:21
  • hsrwannabe: On the dashboard where the tax disc  used to go if its a pre 79 car
    Yesterday at 00:03:59